Newport News, Virginia Underage Drinking DUI Lawyer
Under Virginia state law, anyone under the age of 21 who drinks and drives is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor. Unlike adults, a young driver need only register a 0.02 blood alcohol count (BAC) or higher to be in violation of the law. If convicted of underage drinking and driving, the penalties involved could include any of the following:
- License suspension for up to a year and a half to one year
- A minimum fine of up to $500
- Up to 50 hours of community service
- Required attendance at an Alcohol Safety Action Program
At the law office of John J. Rice, I pursue alternatives to harsh punishment for my clients, working with the court in reaching an agreement that allows you to keep your license or avoid maximum penalties. In some cases, I may be able to reduce the charges against you in exchange for community service and enrollment in a drug and alcohol counseling program.
Before you plead "guilty," contact underage drinking DUI attorney John J. Rice today to discuss your case and learn more about the legal options available to you.
Why It's Important to Talk to an Attorney
Depending on the specifics of your case, it may be possible to reduce the charges against you, especially if your BAC was fairly low. Having a DUI charge reduced to a moving violation or other felony could mean the difference between a cost increase in your car insurance and an insurer dropping your coverage altogether. And, once you have a DUI on your record, the cost of your insurance could be substantially higher for years to come.
When the Charges against You need to be Challenged
Police officers aren't above "hassling" a car full of kids they view as rowdy or out too late at night. However, in order to pull a car over, police must have reasonable suspicion that a law has been broken. Once they pull you over, if they believe you have been drinking, an officer will administer a field sobriety test. The field sobriety test is used to give an officer "probable cause" to arrest you. However, if either the car stop or the field sobriety field test is conducted incorrectly, the charges against you may be dropped. Additionally, if a breathalyzer was used to test your BAC, questions may arise regarding its calibration and the general maintenance of the device.
Contact Underage Drinking DUI Lawyer John J. Rice Today
Don't lose your license or face expensive fines and increased insurance premiums for an underage drinking DUI charge. To schedule an appointment and discuss how I can help you, contact DUI defense attorney John J. Rice today.