Out of Town Traffic Offenders - Norfolk Lawyer
Speeding Through Virginia
Virginia traffic violations, speeding tickets, citations for reckless driving, or other moving violations don't go away just because you're from out of state. Virginia is very strict on enforcing—and charging for—every little violation of its traffic law.
Virginia cannot restrict the license of an out-of-town traffic offender, but it can prohibit you from driving in Virginia and it will notify your home state so they can take action against you.
The consequences for traffic violations vary from county to county, even from judge to judge. You may have to come back to the state, you may not. You need to work with a local attorney who understands Virginia traffic laws and how to get things done.
As your Newport News, Virginia, traffic ticket attorney, I'll work with you to minimize the inconvenience of facing a traffic charge in another state.
I'm a criminal defense lawyer with common sense, compassion, and a concern for your welfare. I've been representing tourists, visitors, students, and military personnel temporarily stationed in Virginia for more than 30 years. Contact my law office by e-mail, or call 757-310-6441 during business hours or for after-hours emergencies.
Virginia Speeding Tickets
Virginia will report your speeding ticket back to your home state within 6 months. Some states don't enter speeding tickets from other states into their system. Other states may act to suspend your drivers license because of out of state traffic violations. Check with the Department of Motor Vehicles in your state to understand how this will affect you.
You may receive notification to attend an 8-hour Driver Improvement class. You do not need to attend if you live out of state. It is sufficient to fax a copy of your license to the DMV and ask them to waive the requirement.
If you're facing DUI charges in the Newport News or Hampton Roads area of Virginia, you will have to come back to the state to go to court. It can take 6 weeks to two months before a court date is available. I'll work with you by phone, mail, and e-mail to get your case ready so your time here will be as short as possible.
Virginia DUI law can be surprisingly harsh to people from other states. If you had a few too many and you're sitting in your parked car listening to the radio—keys in the ignition—you can be charged with drunk driving.
Even if you never left your parking space.
Even if you're lying in the back seat.
If you're convicted of drunk driving in Virginia, you will face fines (in Virginia and at home), possible jail time, loss of your license, and possible enrollment in a driving safety program, which will be transferred to your home state.
Before you subject yourself to those penalties, let's be sure the State has a case. As your drunk driving defense attorney, I'll check out the evidence against you and see if errors were made in your stop or alcohol test. I'm thorough and tenacious in representing my clients.
I am a Newport News traffic tickets lawyer with experience and empathy. E-mail me at the law office of John J. Rice, or call my office at 757-310-6441 during business hours or for after-hours emergencies.