Newport News DUI Defense Attorney
Experienced Defense Against Drunk Driving Charges
If you are facing drunk driving charges in Virginia, you need experienced legal counsel. I am Newport News DUI defense lawyer John J. Rice, and I have made it my life's work to help people in trouble find fair treatment in the courts. For more than 39 years, I have represented habitual offenders and first-time offenders accused of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, boating under the influence of alcohol or drugs, public drunkenness and underage possession of alcohol.
If you have been charged with drunk driving, turn to legal counsel with common sense, compassion and a concern for your welfare. Contact me, a Virginia criminal defense attorney, online or call 757-310-6441 to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case.
Consequences for Drunk Driving in Virginia
In Virginia, if your blood alcohol level (BAC) is .08 or more, you will be charged with driving under the influence. First-time offenders arrested for drunk driving with a BAC of .15 to .19 will get a mandatory jail sentence of five days. The stakes are even higher for individuals with a BAC of .2 or higher, resulting in 10 days of jail time.
Virginia DWI/DUI laws are harsh. If you have too many drinks, you should not drive. Furthermore, you may be charged with a DWI/DUI if you drink excessively, but only put your keys in the ignition. If you are convicted of drunk driving in Virginia, you will likely be sentenced to an Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) and will face significant fines, jail time and short-term suspension or revocation of your driver's license.
Providing an Aggressive Defense Strategy
Before subjecting yourself to costly penalties, be sure the state has a real case. As a Virginia drunk driving defense attorney, I will thoroughly investigate all of the evidence against you.
Part of my focus includes determining if law enforcement had a probable reason to pull you over. I have the skills and determination to uncover any errors in your field sobriety or Breathalyzer test. I will fight to have your charges dismissed or greatly reduced if your rights were violated. My work will not end there. I will also vigorously defend you in your administrative hearing with the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Skilled Handling of Underage Drinking Charges
Anyone under 21 accused of consuming or purchasing alcohol will be charged with a misdemeanor crime of underage possession or consumption of alcohol. If you obtain alcohol for an underage person, you can be charged with a misdemeanor. This carries stiff penalties, including possible jail time, a $500 fine, community service and a suspended driver's license for six months. At the law office of John J. Rice, Attorney & Counselor at Law, I am skilled at handling underage drinking and possession of alcohol charges, as well as drunk driving charges involving minors. I will challenge the evidence and seek a favorable resolution.
Defending Visitors, Tourists and Military Personnel
About a third of my clients are active duty or retired military personnel who are facing drunk driving charges. I understand the detrimental effects that a DWI/DUI conviction has for individuals' military careers.
I have lived in many places around the world. I know what it is like to be far from home with a problem and needing help. You can count on me to be there for you.
Call for a Consultation With a Virginia Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer
If you are facing drunk driving charges, you need experienced legal representation. Contact me, a Newport News DUI defense attorney, online or call 757-310-6441 to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case. I can also be reached by phone after hours in emergency situations.